Commission on Professional Standards


Overview

As a regulatory body, the mission of the Commission on Professional Standards in Education is to set standards for licensing educational personnel in the State of Nevada, thus, facilitating a quality education for all students.
The Commission on Professional Standards in Education is the only regulatory commission that sets licensure standards for educational personnel. Its membership reflects the key components of the educational establishment. Regulations are developed based on accepted standards for the professional staff in schools. It also establishes regulations governing examinations for the initial licensure of teachers and other educational personnel. Of particular interest to the Commission is that its decisions ensure that Nevada's educators are both highly qualified and highly effective in the teaching of Nevada's students.

    Mission

    The mission of the Commission on Professional Standards in Education is to create rigorous regulations for the licensing of educational personnel in the State of Nevada with the overall goal of contributing to the professionalism of teaching through its selection of educator testing instruments and facilitating a quality education for all students.

      2015-2016 Meeting Schedule

         
      Date Location
      Wednesday, July 29, 2015 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, August 19, 2015 Cancelled
      Wednesday, September 16, 2015 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, October 21, 2015 Cancelled
      Wednesday, November 18, 2015 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, December 16, 2015 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, January 20, 2016 Cancelled
      Wednesday, February 17, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, March 16, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, April 20, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, May 18, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, June 15, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV
      Wednesday, July 20, 2016 Video Conference Sites/ CC and LV