The Nevada Legislature has provided funding to support reimbursement of expenses incurred by teachers who successfully complete certification for National Board. For this year, $49,285 was allocated by the legislature and the maximum allowable reimbursement per teacher is $2,000. The reimbursement amount received per teacher is based upon the total number of claims made against the amount of money set aside by the Legislature. Should the total requested FY20 reimbursement amount exceed the legislative allocation, reimbursement funding will be determined by proportionally allocating the funds available according to the total amounts requested.
The Department will contact those eligible for reimbursement directly.
Pursuant to the Nevada Administrative Code, a person may renew their NV Educator license by submitting a copy of their NBCT certificate which evidences the completion of the requirements for certification. The license renewal would be valid for the life of the certificate or the normal term of license renewal; whichever is longer. For additional information, see the new requirements here: Regulation document 110-18. Please contact the Licensure Office at firstname.lastname@example.org with questions regarding license renewal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: I am currently working on my National Board Certification (NBC). How does this affect my professional development requirements for licensure renewal?
A: Your NBC will satisfy the professional development requirements for license renewal. As you work through your NBC process, upload each component submission confirmation into your OPAL account to ensure accurate professional development hours are recorded. Upon successful certification, upload your National Board Certificate.
Q: Who should I contact if I have additional questions regarding reimbursement?
A: KellyLynn Charles at email@example.com.