Indian Education Summit

The Nevada Department of Education (NDE), in partnership with the University of Nevada, Reno's Center  for Student Cultural Diversity and the Nevada Indian Commission hosts an Annual American Indian/Alaska Native Education Summit during the month of March..
Save the Date- Annual AI/AN Education Summit on March 16-17, 2015, at the University of Nevada, Reno, Joe Crowley Student Union. Registration site opens October 2014.

    "Pesa Namanedu Awardees 2010-2014"

    In 2014, the Pesa Namanedu Awardees were Antoinette Cavanaugh and Dr. Steven Crum, for their outstanding leadership. 

    In 2013, we presented two Pesa Namanedu Awards:
    The first was presented to individuals who contributed to the development and inclusion of the Northern Paiute language curriculum Numu Yadooana, in the Washoe County School District (WCSD).The WCSD was recognized, along with the WCSD Indian Education Program: Sheryl Hicks, Rebecca Morrison, Anthony Abbie, Bernadette Sharpfish, and tribal elders: Ralph Burns, Reynelda James, Helena Melendez, Jeannette Allen, Lois Kane.There were many others who made this a reality, thank you.

    The second award was presented to Ms. Stacey Montooth.The Churchill County School District recognized her contributions in assisting to increase not only the attendance rate, but also the graduation and achievement rate of American Indians in her district.She was also instrumental in assisting the Nevada Department of Education develop the newly adopted History and Contemporary Lifestyles of the Northern Paiute, Southern Paiute, Washoe and Western Shoshone Curriculum Guide.In addition, her school district recognized the work she does with the local tribal education department.

    In 2012, the Nevada Department of Education recognized individuals who worked on the Numa, Newe, Nuwuvi, and Wa She Shu Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada books.

    In 2011, the Nevada Department of Education recognized individuals who worked on the Great Basin Native American Language Endorsement Committee.

    In 2010, the Nevada Department of Education recognized the teachers who wrote the Celebrating Nevada Indian Curriculum.