Fay Herron Elementary and Estes McDoniel Elementary Schools Names 2020 National ESEA Distinguished Schools

Mabel Hoggard and Nate Mack Elementary Schools Named 2020 Nevada Distinguished Schools

November 30, 2020

CARSON CITY Nev. – Today, the Nevada Department of Education (NDE) announced that Fay Herron Elementary and Estes McDoniel Elementary Schools in the Clark County School District were recognized as 2020 National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools.

“Nevada is very proud of both Fay Herron Elementary School and Estes M McDoniel Elementary School for this national recognition,” said Jhone Ebert, Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I want to express my gratitude to the educators, staff, students, and families who have come together to create a school community that provides high-quality educational opportunities for all learners.”

The National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators – formerly the National Title I Association – has been selecting examples of superior, federally funded school programs for national recognition through the National ESEA Distinguished Schools program since 1996. These schools demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including team approaches to teaching and learning, focused professional development opportunities for staff, individualized programs for student success and strong partnerships between the school, parents, and the community.

Estes McDoniel Elementary was recognized as a Category 1 school for exceptional student performance and academic growth for two or more consecutive years, while Fay Herron Elementary was recognized as a Category 2 school for closing the achievement gap between student groups for two or more consecutive years.

Estes McDoniel Principal Darla Richards said her staff engages students and families through a “Whole Student” approach that extends beyond the content to develop responsibility, build self-confidence, foster skills for life-long learning, and provide essential experiences for daily success.

“At Estes McDoniel Elementary School, we fill our classrooms with effective teachers who collaborate regularly with colleagues,” said Richards. “A focus on strong Tier 1 instruction and early intervention for all students is our priority. A positive school climate and culture have been established where students are motivated and excited to learn and teachers are committed and dedicated to academic excellence!”

Fay Herron Principal Judy Jordahl said their approach is multifaceted to include professional development opportunities for all teaching staff, activities to engage families, as well as collaborative approaches across all grade levels aimed at improving learning.

“Fay Herron is successful because every staff member works collaboratively to positively impact our students and families by prioritizing attendance, ensuring our students receive high-quality instruction, and maintaining high expectations regardless of the challenges we face,” said Judy Jordahl. “We believe that teachers should use a multitude of teaching methods and materials to find what works best for them, and that students should be given the opportunity to participate in engaging activities to promote an exciting learning environment.”

NDE also recognized two additional Clark County schools as 2020 Nevada ESEA Distinguished Schools.Mabel Hoggard Elementary was recognized as a Category 2 school and Nate Mack Elementary was recognized as a Category 3 school for excellence in serving special populations of students.

“NDE is pleased to recognize Mabel Hoggard Elementary and Nate Mack Elementary Schools for their excellence in supporting student growth and achievement,” said Superintendent Ebert. “These school communities can be extremely proud of all they have accomplished as the result of a shared commitment to equity and access for all students.”