Elementary School/Pre-School


What are the age requirements for enrolling my child in a public school in Nevada?

Per Nevada Revised Statute 392.040, a child who is 7 years of age on or before September 30th of a school year must be admitted to the first grade if a child has completed kindergarten, and admitted to the second grade if the child has completed kindergarten and the first grade.

This Statute (NRS392.040.4) further explains: "The parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person within the State of Nevada having control or charge of a child who is 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year may elect for the child not to attend kindergarten or the first grade during that year. The parents, custodial parent, guardian or other person who makes such an election shall file with the board of trustees of the appropriate school district a waiver in a form prescribed by the board."

My child is 4 years old and is very mature and bright but will not be 5 until October 1. How can I get an exception for an early enrollment in a public Kindergarten in Nevada?

A child must be 5 years of age on or before September 30th. Please refer NRS 392.040.2:

NRS 392.040  Attendance required for child between 7 and 18 years of age; minimum age required for kindergarten and first grade; waiver from attendance available for child 6 years of age; developmental screening test required to determine placement; effect of military transfer of parent of child.

1. Except as otherwise provided by law, each parent, custodial parent, guardian or other person in the State of Nevada having control or charge of any child between the ages of 7 and 18 years shall send the child to a public school during all the time the public school is in session in the school district in which the child resides unless the child has graduated from high school.

2. A child who is 5 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year may be admitted to kindergarten at the beginning of that school year, and the child's enrollment must be counted for purposes of apportionment. If a child is not 5 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the child must not be admitted to kindergarten.

When will Senate Bill 515 be fully implemented so that my child can attend a public all-day kindergarten? All-day kindergarten will be provided at every elementary school in Nevada by the school year beginning 2017.

All-day kindergarten will be provided at every elementary school in Nevada by the school year beginning 2017.

    Does the Department license a Pre-School?

    The Nevada Department of Education does not license pre-k programs administered by school districts. Child care facilities are licensed by the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public and Behavioral Health.