NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION

NOTICE OF HEARING FOR THE AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION OF REGULATION
OF THE COMMISSION ON PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS IN EDUCATION

The Nevada Commission on Professional Standards in Education will hold a public hearing at
8:00 AM on September 14, 2016 to be video-conferenced in the following locations:

Department of Education Department of Education
9890 South Maryland Pkwy  and 700 East Fifth Street
Board Room Board Room

Las Vegas, NV 89183 Carson City, NV 89701

The purpose of the hearing is to receive comments from all interested persons regarding the
amendments/adoptions of regulations that pertain to Chapter 391 of the Nevada
Administrative Code (NAC). If no person who is directly affected by the proposed action
appears to request time to make an oral presentation, the Commission on Professional
Standards in Education may proceed immediately to act upon any written submissions.

The time for the hearing is scheduled as follows:

8:00 A.M. Public Hearing and Possible Adoption of Proposed Amendments to
R040-16; NAC Chapter 391 relating to educational personnel; revising
the amount of the fee which must be submitted by an applicant for
licensure as a teacher or other educational employee; and providing
other matters properly relating thereto.

NOTE: Possible action to adopt may be taken at this meeting.
The following information is provided pursuant to the requirements of NRS 233B.0603:

1. The need and the purpose of the proposed amendments to NAC Chapter 391 are
based on recommendations from the Nevada Department of Education. Proposed
amendments are related to educational personnel; revising the amount of the fee
which must be submitted by an applicant for licensure as a teacher or other
educational employee. This regulation increases from $161.00 to $180.00 the
amount of this fee.

2. The Subjects and Issues involved in the regulation are those who would be seeking
to obtain an initial issuance of a license as a teacher or other educational employee.

3. There is economic effect of the regulation on the business and industry that it
regulates.
There is economic effect of the regulation on the public.
There is immediate or long-term effects on the public.

4. The estimated cost to the Department of Education for enforcement of the proposed
regulations is none.
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5. There are no federal laws affecting the proposed regulation and there is no duplication
or overlap of state or local governmental agencies.

6. The proposed regulation is not required pursuant to federal law.

7. The proposed regulation does not include provisions which are more stringent than a
federal regulation that regulates the same activity.

8. The proposed regulation does establish a new fee. The proposed regulation does
increase the existing initial licensure fee.

Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of the Commission on Professional
Standards in Education may appear at the scheduled public hearing or may address their
comments, data, views or arguments, in written form, to the Commission Secretary, Nevada
Department of Education, 9890 S. Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas, NV 89183. The Department
of Education must receive written submissions on or before August 31, 2016. If no person
who is directly affected by the proposed action appears to request time to make an oral
presentation, the Commission on Professional Standards in Education may proceed
immediately to act upon any written submissions.

A copy of this notice and the regulation to be amended/adopted will be on file at the State
Library and Archives, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City, Nevada, for inspection by members of
the public during business hours. Additional copies of the notice and the regulation to be
amended/adopted will be available at the Nevada Department of Education, 9890 S.
Maryland Parkway, Las Vegas, NV 89183, and in all counties at the main public library, for
inspection and copying by members of the public during business hours. This notice and the
text of the proposed regulation are also available at the State of Nevada Register of
Administrative Regulations which is prepared and published monthly by the Legislative
Counsel  Bureau pursuant to NRS 233B.0653 and on the Internet
at http://www.leg.state.nv.us. Copies of this notice and the proposed regulation will also be
mailed to members of the public upon request. A reasonable fee may be charged for copies
if it is deemed necessary.

Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested person,
either prior to adoption or within 30 days thereafter, will issue a concise statement of the
principal reasons for and against its adoption and incorporate therein its reason for overruling
the consideration urged against its adoption.

This notice of hearing has been posted at the following locations: Nevada Department of
Education, both locations; 17 Nevada County School District Offices; 17 Nevada Public
Libraries; Clark County Classroom Teachers Association; Washoe County Teachers
Association; Nevada State Education Association, both locations; and Nevada State Library
and Archives.
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http://www.leg.state.nv.us./

PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE COMMISSION ON
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS IN EDUCATION
LCB File No. R040-16

April 15,2016

EXPLANATION — Matter in ifalics is new; matter in brackets [emitiedsnaterial] is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: §1, NRS 391.019 and 391.040.

A REGULATION relating to educational personnel; revising the amount of the fee which must
be submitted by an applicant for licensure as a teacher or other educational employee;
and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:
Existing law requires the Commission on Professional Standards in Education to fix a fee

of not less than $65 for the initial issuance or renewal of a license as a teacher or other
educational employee, which must include the fees for processing the fingerprints of the
applicant by the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History and the Federal
Bureau of Investigation. (NRS 391.040) This regulation increases from $161 to $180 the amount
of this fee.

Section 1. NAC 391.045 is hereby amended to read as follows:

391.045 1. An applicant for the initial issuance of a license as a teacher or other
educational employee must submit with his or her application:

(a) His or her official transcripts;

(b) Evidence that the applicant has successfully completed:

(1) Atleast 3 semester hours of credit in a course of study regarding education or

curricular adaptation for pupils with disabilities; or
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(2) An in-service or continuing education course regarding education or curricular
adaptation for pupils with disabilities that is approved by the Department;
(c) Evidence that the applicant has successfully completed:
(1) At least 3 semester hours of credit in a course of study regarding parental involvement
and family engagement that:
(D) Is consistent with the elements and goals for effective involvement and engagement
set forth in NRS 392.457; and
(I) Includes an emphasis on building relationships, outreach to families and
developing an appreciation and understanding of families from diverse backgrounds; or
(2) An in-service or continuing education course regarding parental involvement and
family engagement that is approved by the Department and:
(D Is consistent with the elements and goals for effective involvement and engagement
set forth in NRS 392.457; and
(II) Includes an emphasis on building relationships, outreach to families and
developing an appreciation and understanding of families from diverse backgrounds; and
(d) Except as otherwise provided in NAC 391.0563, a fee of {$164} $180, which includes the
fees for processing the fingerprints of the applicant by the Central Repository for Nevada
Records of Criminal History and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The fee does not include
the cost of any examination required by NAC 391.036.

2. If the applicant is not eligible for licensure, the fee will not be returned. The applicant

must pay another fee if he or she applies again.
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3. An applicant for an endorsement to an existing license or for an additional license must
submit with his or her application:

(a) Current official transcripts; and

(b) A fee of $50.

4. The academic credits required to obtain initial licensing or an endorsement to an existing
license are not satisfiable by the completion of courses offered by a provider of continuing

education, but those courses may be used for the renewal of a license.

.
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BRIAN SANDOVAL STATE OF NEVADA SOUTHERN NEVADA OFFICE
Governor 9890 S. Maryland Parkway, Suite 221

Las Vegas, Nevada 89183
STEVE CANAVERO, Ph.D.

- - (702) 486-6458
Interim Superintendent Fax: (702)486-6450
of Public Instruction

www.doe.nv.gov/Educator_Licensure

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
700 E. Fifth Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701-5096
(775) 687 - 9200 - Fax: (775) 687 — 9101
http://www.doe.nv.gov

SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT
PURSUANT TO NRS 233B.0608

Date:  01/29/2016

RE:  Proposed Adoption of Regulations Revising NAC 391.045 Application for license or
endorsement: Required documentation; fee; applicability of academic credits. (NRS
385.080, 391.019, 391.040)

I, Steve Canavero, Ph.D., being duly appointed Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction, do hereby
certify that, to the best of my knowledge or belief:

1. The proposed changes to the regulation NAC 391.045 are not likely to (a) impose a direct or
significant economic burden upon a small business, or (b) directly restrict the formation,
operation or expansion of a small business.

2. A concerted effort was made to determine any economic burden. The Department of
Education has relied on the expert knowledge of Department staff and the Attorney General’s
Office the impact is solely on school districts and the Department of Education.

3. All relevant materials were reviewed and the Department considered its history with
implementing similar regulations; the proposed changes are within the historic scope of the
Department’s activities and present no new cost of enforcement.

4. Comment has not been solicited from small business, and no summary of their response is
provided, because small businesses are not impacted by this regulation and thus no burden or
economic impact can be assessed.

| hereby further certify that, to the best of my knowledge or belief, a concerted effort was made to
determine the impact of the regulation on small businesses and that the information contained in this
statement was prepared properly and is accurate.

Respectfully submitted,

=

Steve Canavero, Ph.D.
Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction


http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-385.html#NRS385Sec080
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-385.html#NRS385Sec080
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-391.html#NRS391Sec019
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-391.html#NRS391Sec040
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