Distance Education Course Application

Guidelines & Requirements

Eligibility

A person or entity that has developed a course of distance education may submit an
application for inclusion of the course on the list of approved courses prepared by the
Department of Education. Entities may include, without limitation:

a vendor of a course of distance education

the Nevada System of Higher Education or other postsecondary educational
institution

a board of trustees of a school district or a governing body of a charter school

Application Timeline

Applications for distance education course approval must be received by June 15" for
the subsequent school year, in order to assure that the courses can be approved prior
to the normal start of the school year. The Department cannot guarantee that the
applications received after June 15" will be approved by the start of the school year.

Department staff will review applications in the order they are received. Within 45
calendar days after receipt of the application, the Department will provide the
applicant with a written approval or denial of the courses.

If the application for course approval is denied, the applicant will have 30 calendar
days to correct any deficiencies identified by the Department and resubmit the
application.

Upon receipt of the resubmitted application, the Department shall make a final
determination as to whether the courses will be approved.

All sections of the application must be completed. Failure to complete all sections
will result in denial of the application and could unnecessarily delay approval of
courses.

The application forms must be used. Substitute forms will not be accepted and will
result in denial of the application.

Applicable State Law and Regulation
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NRS 388.820-874
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-388.html

NAC 388.800-860
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-388.html



Application Approval

e Except as otherwise provided in NAC 388.860 (revocation), if a course is approved,
the approval is valid for 3 years, commencing with the date on which the course is
first included on the list of approved distance education courses published by the
Department.

e The Department shall prescribe forms for the renewal of an application. A provider of
a course of distance education must submit an application for renewal to the
Department at least 60 days before the expiration of the approval to maintain the
course on the list of approved distance education courses.

e Regulations require the Department of Education to prepare and publish a list of state
approved courses of distance education twice each year. This list is published on the
Department’s website at http://www.doe.nv.gov/techinn/disted.html.

Application Approval/Course Modification

e If a provider of a course of distance education intends to change or modify the course
with regard to the information requested in Section 3 of the distance education course
application, the provider shall obtain the written approval of the Department before
making such a change or modification. If the provider changes or modifies the course
without the approval of the Department pursuant to this subsection, the Department
may revoke its approval of the course.

Submit Proposals To:

Tracy Gruber, Education Programs Professional
Nevada Department of Education
755 North Roop Street, Suite #107
Carson City, NV 89701

If you have any questions regarding the information requested in the application, please call
Tracy Gruber at 775-687-5932 or email tgruber@doe.nv.gov.

Completing the Application Form

Follow the instructions for Sections 1-3 of the application. Failure to use Department forms
or complete all information could result in denial of the application.

Section 1: Certification

1.1 If applicable, the date on which the application was approved by the board of directors, board of
regents, board of trustees or other governing body of the entity that submitted the application.

1.2 If applicable, a description of the regional or national accreditation status attained by the entity that
submitted the application and the date on which such accreditation was granted.

1.3 List name and title of person authorized to submit this application on behalf of the entity. An original
signature of the appropriate designee of the applicant must be provided. By signing Section 1.3.2, the
applicant assures the Department that the distance education courses will be provided as described in
the application.

Revised December 9, 2016 2


mailto:tgruber@doe.nv.gov

1.4 Provide all contact information. The designated contact will be the person the Department will
contact regarding any questions pertaining to the application

List of Courses

2.1 List all courses you want to be reviewed for state approval. List course numbers; if applicable.
Each course must be listed separately.

2.2 Do not combine courses in categories on one line.

2.3 Indicate grade level of each course.

Course Information

Provide the following information for each course being requested for approval with this application.
Use a separate form for each course. Make copies of this section as needed.

3.1-3 Enter course title, course number (if applicable), and grade levels covered by this course. This
should match the information entered in Section 2 — List of Courses.

3.4 The amount of credit to be awarded for completion of the course should be reported in Carnegie units
if the course is designated for students in grades 9 through 12. A Carnegie unit in Nevada is defined as a
course providing a minimum of 120 hours of instruction. If the course is designated for elementary or
middle school students, please indicate that the course will meet the appropriate grade level requirements
described in regulation for students who successfully complete the course.

3.5 The number of instructional hours provided as part of the course is required to be reported by
regulation. Do not include homework assignments as part of the hours reported unless the assignment
would be completed as a normal part of the classroom instruction.

3.6 Provide all listed information for the person responsible for this course. This is probably an
administrator, but could be the instructor. This is the person the Department will contact regarding the
course.

3.7 Provide information for the instructor of each course. For core subject areas, instructors must be
licensed for the specific subject area at the appropriate grade level. Core subject areas are English
Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. If an instructor has not been designated at the
time of this application, provide a detailed description of the qualifications needed for employment of an
instructor to teach this specific course. If the course to be provided is not in a core subject area, submit a
description of the qualifications that will be used to employ a person to instruct this specific course.

3.8 Provide a description of the course.

3.9 List all textbooks and supplemental materials for this course. Include the exact title and edition,
publisher’s name, and copyright date. Include any textbook alternatives in the list.

3.10 How will this distance education course be delivered? For example, is it internet-based, two-way
video, on CD or otherwise computer-based, etc.

3.11 Nevada statute requires that instructors of distance education course meet with or otherwise
communicate with students on a weekly basis to determine the student’s progress. How will this
requirement be satisfied for this course?

3.12 Provide a detailed description of how students will be assessed. Include the criteria to determine the
student’s grade at the completion of the course.
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3.13 Item 4 requests documentation that verifies that the course is aligned with state standards or with the
course of study objectives adopted by the state. Nevada has adopted the Nevada Academic Content
Standards (NVACS) based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts and
mathematics. Applications submitted for courses in those subject areas should align to the NVACS.

For school districts and charter schools in Nevada who offer the identical course in a regular classroom
setting, an assurance that the course has been aligned with the state standards or with the course of study
objectives along with a brief description of the process followed by the school district or charter school to
align the course is all that needs to be provided. For all other courses, documentation must be provided
that aligns the specific course objectives with the appropriate state standards or with the course of study
objectives. The documentation must include the specific benchmark standard identified by number or the
specific course of study objective that is covered by each of the course objectives.

3.14 List all attachments. Include the syllabus for all courses. Provide a copy of the valid teacher license
for the instructor for all core subject area courses. Provide additional attachments you believe will help
you receive course approval.
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