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Distance Education Course Renewal 
Guidelines & Requirements

Eligibility 

A person or entity that has developed a course of distance education may submit an application 

for inclusion of the course on the list of approved courses prepared by the Department of 

Education. A provider of a course of Distance Education must apply for renewal of the course 

approval every three years. 
 

Course Renewal Guidelines 

 Except as otherwise provided in NAC 388.860 (revocation), if a course is approved, 

the approval is valid for 3 years, commencing with the date on which the course is first 

included on the list of approved distance education courses published by the 

Department.   

 A provider of a course of distance education must submit an application for renewal to 

the Department at least 60 days before the expiration of the approval to maintain the 

course on the list of approved distance education courses.  

 Department staff will review renewal applications in the order they are received.   

 Within 45 calendar days after receipt of the application, the Department will provide 

the applicant with a written approval or denial of the courses.   

 If the application for course approval is denied, the applicant will have 30 calendar 

days from mailing date of the denial to correct any deficiencies identified by the 

Department and resubmit the application.   

 Upon receipt of the resubmitted application, the Department shall make a final 

determination as to whether the courses will be renewed. 

 All applicable sections of the application must be completed. Failure to complete all 

applicable sections will result in denial of the application and could unnecessarily 

delay renewal of courses. 

 The renewal application forms must be used. Substitute forms will not be accepted and 

will result in denial of the application. 
 

Applicable State Law and Regulation 

 NRS 388.820-874 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-388.html 

 NAC 388.800-860 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-388.html  
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Application Approval/Course Modification 

 If a provider of a course of distance education intends to, or has changed or modified 

the course with regard to the information requested in Section 3 of the application, the 

provider shall obtain the written approval of the Department before making such a 

change or modification.  

 The provider of a course of Distance Education must identify any modifications to 

currently approved courses during the renewal process.  The modifications must be 

identified on the Renewal application forms. 

 Nevada adopted the Nevada Academic Content Standards (NVACS) based on the Common 

Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts and mathematics.  Applications for 

courses in these subject areas must show alignment to NVACS. 
 

Submit Proposals To: 

Tracy Gruber, Education Programs Professional 

Nevada Department of Education 

755 North Roop Street, Suite #107 

Carson City, NV  89701 

 

If you have any questions regarding the information requested in the application, please call 

Tracy Gruber at 775-687-5932 or email tgruber@doe.nv.gov. 
 

Completing the Application Form 

 Follow the instructions for Sections 1-3 of the application. Failure to use Department 

forms or complete all information could result in denial of the application. 

 If the provider of a course of Distance Education has not changed or otherwise 

modified the currently approved courses, the provider must only complete Sections 1 

and Section 2 to complete the renewal process.  The one exception to this is for ELA 

and mathematics courses that were approved under the Nevada standards must now 

align to NVACS and thus, evidence of this alignment must be shown under section 

3.13 of this application. 

 If the provider of a course of Distance Education has modified, or is requesting 

modification of currently approved courses or desires to add new courses, the 

provider must complete all Sections of the application for each course. 
 

Section 1: Certification 

1.1 If applicable, the date on which the application was approved by the board of directors, board of 

regents, board of trustees or other governing body of the entity that submitted the application. 

1.2 If applicable, a description of the regional or national accreditation status attained by the entity that 

submitted the application and the date on which such accreditation was granted. 

1.3 List name and title of person authorized to submit this application on behalf of the entity.  An original 

signature of the appropriate designee of the applicant must be provided.  By signing Section 1.3.2, the 

applicant assures the Department that the distance education courses will be provided as described in 

the application. 

1.4 Provide all contact information.  The designated contact will be the person the Department will 

contact regarding any questions pertaining to the renewal application 

mailto:tgruber@doe.nv.gov
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List of Courses 

2.1 List all courses which you wish to renew or which have been modified since the original state 

approval.  Do not combine courses in categories on one line.  Each course must be listed separately. 
 

2.2 List course numbers; if applicable.  
 

2.3 Indicate grade level of each course. 
 

2.4 List the Course Provider – ie. Self Authored, Vendor name, Course supplier. 
 

Course Information 

Provide the following information for each course being requested for approval with this application.  

Use a separate form for each course.  Make copies of this section as needed. 

3.1-3 Enter course title, course number (if applicable), and grade levels covered by this course.  This 

should match the information entered in Section 2 – List of Courses. 

3.4 The amount of credit to be awarded for completion of the course should be reported in Carnegie units 

if the course is designated for students in grades 9 through 12.  A Carnegie unit in Nevada is defined as a 

course providing a minimum of 120 hours of instruction.  If the course is designated for elementary or 

middle school students, please indicate that the course will meet the appropriate grade level requirements 

described in regulation for students who successfully complete the course. 

3.5 The number of instructional hours provided as part of the course is required to be reported by 

regulation.  Do not include homework assignments as part of the hours reported unless the assignment 

would be completed as a normal part of the classroom instruction. 

3.6 Provide all listed information for the person responsible for this course.  This is probably an 

administrator, but could be the instructor.  This is the person the Department will contact regarding the 

course. 

3.7 Provide information for the instructor of each course.  For core subject areas, instructors must be 

licensed for the specific subject area at the appropriate grade level.  Core subject areas are English 

Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies.  If an instructor has not been designated at the 

time of this application, provide a detailed description of the qualifications needed for employment of an 

instructor to teach this specific course.  If the course to be provided is not in a core subject area, submit a 

description of the qualifications that will be used to employ a person to instruct this specific course. 

3.8 Provide a description of the course. 

3.9 List all textbooks and supplemental materials for this course. Include the exact title and edition, 

publisher’s name, and copyright date. Include any textbook alternatives in the list. 

3.10 How will this distance education course be delivered? For example, is it internet-based, two-way 

video, on CD or otherwise computer-based, etc. 

3.11 Nevada statute requires that instructors of distance education course meet with or otherwise 

communicate with students on a weekly basis to determine the student’s progress. How will this 

requirement be satisfied for this course? 

3.12 Provide a detailed description of how students will be assessed. Include the criteria to determine the 

student’s grade at the completion of the course. 
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3.13 Item 4 requests documentation that verifies that the course is aligned with state standards or with the 

course of study objectives adopted by the state.  Nevada has adopted the Nevada Academic Content 

Standards (NVACS) based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts and 

mathematics.  Applications submitted for courses in those subject areas should align to the NVACS. 

For school districts and charter schools in Nevada who offer the identical course in a regular classroom 

setting, an assurance that the course has been aligned with the state standards or with the course of study 

objectives along with a brief description of the process followed by the school district or charter school to 

align the course is all that needs to be provided.  For all other courses, documentation must be provided 

that aligns the specific course objectives with the appropriate state standards or with the course of study 

objectives.  The documentation must include the specific benchmark standard identified by number or the 

specific course of study objective that is covered by each of the course objectives. 

3.14 List all attachments.  Include the syllabus for all courses.  Provide a copy of the valid teacher license 

for the instructor for all core subject area courses.  Provide additional attachments you believe will help 

you receive course approval. 


