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New/Initial Private School License Application 

State of Nevada Department of Education 
Office of Student and School Support 
2080 E. Flamingo Rd. Suite 210 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 
mschroeder@doe.nv.gov 

This application is for Nevada Private Schools applying for a NEW or Initial Private 
School License.  

Important Instructions 

1. Complete the fillable aspects of the application on the computer, then print and have
the document officially signed and notarized.

2. Provide copies of all requested documentation along with the application.

3. Mail or email the official signed and notarized copy along with the support documents
to the Private School Program Professional at the address listed at the top of this page
no later than 60 days before you plan to open.

4. The renewal application fee is $300 and can be paid electronically using a credit card
during your license renewal site visit from the Department.
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New/Initial Private School License Application 
State of Nevada Department of Education 
Office of Student and School Support 
2080 E. Flamingo Rd. Suite 210 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 

Private Elementary and Secondary Education Authorization Act: 
(NRS 394 & NAC 394) 

Name of school: 

Name of sponsoring organization: 

Street Address: 

City: 

State: 

Zip: 

County: 

Mailing address (if different): 

Telephone: 

Head of School or Owner Name: 

Head of School or Owner Email: 

Non-Profit or For-Profit: 

Grade Levels Served: 

Anticipated Enrollment: 

Anticipated Opening Date: 

Printed Name & Title of Person signing this application: 
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Nevada Revised  Statutes & Nevada Administrative Code Requirements  

Component  1:   Instruction  

A  We are using the Common Core State Standards and other Nevada Content Standards  
as the basis of our curriculum.*   YES NO 

B   If your response to ‘A’  is NO,  you must  provide a copy of  the scopes and sequences  
of the various curricular programs you will  be using and explain how you will ensure  
that your students will have the  instruction that is required by statute and regulation.  

C   Provide a list of  textbooks  and supplementary materials used in each course.  

D   Provide a table that includes the grade  levels of your school and the time period in 
which each grade  level will attend school.  These times must meet the minimum  
requirements set forth in NAC 387.130.   

E   When will  the examination on the Constitution of the United States and the  
Constitution of Nevada be given? The examination  must be given once in elementary  
school and once in secondary school.   

Grade Level & Month:  

Grade Level & Month:  

F  If applicable, describe the physical education facilities (photos acceptable).  Include  
the equipment available and how P.E. standards will be met.   

G  List the  library  materials and other facilities/services available for instruction,  
research, and study.  Do not list all titles  in your library: the number of titles is  
sufficient.  

H  List the audiovisual and  instructional equipment available and used.   

Component 2: Personnel  

A  Does your school have an administrator  or  liaison?   

Name:  

Title:  

Schools with 150 or more students must  have a qualified administrator. See NAC  
394.040 for ways to qualify as an administrator or liaison.  

3 



 

 

 

 

B  Attach the resume and three recent letters of reference that attest to the character,  
reputation, and professional competence of the listed administrator or liaison. One  
letter must be from a Nevada resident. All  letters must be signed and on personal or 
professional  letterhead with the author’s contact information.  

C  Who is  your school’s registered  agent? Private  schools are required  to have  an agent 
per NRS  394.261.  You must submit  an  Agent Permit application  to  the  Department.  

D  Attach copies of  licenses or other proof of  qualification (transcript, diploma, resume)  
for all teachers hired.  Refer to NAC 394.050 for ways to qualify as a teacher in a 
private school.  

List your new teachers along with the grade(s)/subject(s) assigned, and note which of  
the four qualifying categories each meet per NAC 394.050.   

E  List your school’s grade levels and how many teachers are assigned to each level. For 
secondary schools, please also include subject area.  

F  How many non-licensed employees  will  work at your school and  in which role(s)?   

G  Provide job descriptions for each class of employee within your  school including  
teacher, administrator/liaison, aide, etc.   

H  Provide a description  of the procedures for evaluating the educational personnel and 
attach any evaluation forms used for this purpose. In your description,  include the  
title of  the person who completes these evaluations along with the timeline of the 
evaluations.  

I  Submit three letters of reference written by in-state  individuals for the owner of the  
school or the Chairman  of the Board of Trustees attesting to their character and 
reputation. All  letters  must be on personal o r professional  letterhead, signed, and  
dated. If the owner or the Chairman is the same person named as the administrator 
or liaison, do not recopy, simply state that the administrator or liaison is also the  
owner or Chair. (NAC394.160, 394 168-169).  

J  All private school employees who are likely  to have unsupervised contact with pupils  
must have an FBI fingerprint background check on file that may be audited  by the  
Department during a site visit. (NRS 394.155)  

Do  or will all employees with unsupervised  contact with pupils at you school have an 
FBI fingerprint background check on file? YES  NO  

K  Has any officer or member of the staff of the school been convicted of any  crime or  
felony which could affect relationships with pupils? YES   NO  

If yes, provide details to explain who, what, where, when, and court results.  

L  Has any officer or member of the staff of the school been convicted of any crime or  
felony  involving moral turpitude? YES   NO  
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If yes, provide details to explain who, what, where, when, and court results.  

Component 3:  Students  

A  Provide a list of the maximum number of students to be enrolled in each grade and  
course.  

B  Attach copies of progress reports, report cards, and transcripts (if applicable).   

C  Describe the methods used to evaluate student learning and achievement.  

D  Attach copies of the Certificate of Completion or Diploma earned by students that 
indicates the student has satisfactorily completed the course of instruction or study  
(NAC 394.090).  

E  State the policy relative to standards of academic progress required of students  
including your grading system, conditions for probation, dismissal, and re-entrance. If  
this  is  found in your brochure or student handbook, please indicate the page number 
here:  

F  State your attendance policy relative to absences, tardiness, and unsatisfactory  
attendance. If this  is found in your brochure or student handbook, please  indicate the  
page number here:  

G  State the procedure used to  maintain and report attendance. If this  is  found in your 
brochure or student handbook, please indicate the page number here:  

H  Provide a copy of the  written policy of the school relating to student conduct including  
behavior and/or conditions for dismissal.  If  this  is  found  in your brochure or student 
handbook, please indicate the page number here:  

I  Will  you be admitting  students with disabilities? YES   NO  

If yes, carefully review NRS 394.353  - NRS 394.379.  

Component 4:  Student Records  

A  Who at your school  is  responsible for the maintenance of student records?  

Name:  

Title:   

B  Where are the records stored?   
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C  Who will be responsible for the records  in the event the school terminates?   

Name:   

Email:  

Note:  When a private  school closes,  its owners or administrators  are required to notify  
and submit to the Department all permanent records of pupils and all records  
pertinent to the financial resolution of encumbrances and indebtedness (NAC  
394.070).  

D  Student files are required to  include proof of  immunization or exemption from a 
physician, a copy of the birth certificate, and documentation directly related to the  
student’s progress  (NRS 394.145). Are these included in your student files?  

YES  NO  

E  If applicable (secondary schools only) state the policy of the private school relative to  
transfer of credits for previous education. If this  is found  in your brochure or 
handbook, please indicate the page number:   

F  Credits earned at a private school must be  such that an enrolled student may transfer 
to a comparable private school  without loss of credit. Explain how such credentials will  
be transferred to a comparable school without loss of credit. Note: many public  
schools do not accept transfer credits  from  unaccredited high school classes.   

Component 5: School Brochure/Catalog/Handbook and Calendars  

A  Provide one copy of the school brochure and/or handbook given to parents and  
students. Your brochure and/or handbook must include the names of the school’s  
governing board members and administrator/Liaison, the school  philosophy, schedule,  
a clear description of  charges and fees and payment due dates,  a clear statement of  
the policy regarding refunds and cancellations, and an assurance that clarifies that 
students will be  admitted to the school without regard to race.   

B  How is  this brochure  and/or handbook distributed to parents?  

C  Are the contents of the brochure and/or handbook incorporated  in all agreements and  
contracts prior to enrollment? YES  NO  

D  Do you follow your local public school district’s annual school calendar exactly?  

YES  NO  
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E  If no, provide copies  of your  annual  school  calendars for the school years  in which  
your license  is being renewed. Calendars must include at  least 180 days, show 
beginning and end dates of the term, and official holidays.  

With written approval of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and written authority  
from your Board, up to five short school days may be  included.   

Component 6: Safety  

A  You are required to complete an Emergency Response Plan for your school. Please 
review NRS 394.168  –NRS 394.1699. Private schools are required to post a copy of  
NRS 388.253  and NRS 394.168- NRS 394.1699 along with Section 34 of  Senate Bill  
89  at the school. Private schools  are also required to post a notice of completion of  the  
annual committee review of your Emergency Response Plan. These can all be posted  
together in your school office  where parents can see them, for example. These items  
will be checked during an onsite visit.  

B  All private schools are required to submit their Emergency Response Plans to the  
Nevada Department of Emergency Management Office by  July 1st  each year via 
NDEMPlanning@dps.state.nv.us  

C  Private schools are also required to submit the  Crisis & Emergency Response 
Certification form  to the Department via jfiedler@doe.nv.gov.  

D  For more information on creating an Emergency Response Plan,  visit the Department’s  
Emergency Operations Plans  webpage.  

E  Provide the address of the Fire Station and  Law Enforcement Office to which you 
delivered  a copy of  your plan.  

Fire Station Address:  

Law Enforcement Office Address:  

F  A copy of your fire drill procedures must be posted in every classroom. Provide a copy  
of your fire drill procedures that is posted in each classroom. You need to post the text 
from NRS 394.170  in every classroom along with your fire drill  procedures.  

G  Secondary schools with a school website are required to post a link on their website  
for suicide prevention pursuant to NRS 439.511. Here is  the  link  that should  be used  

Suicide Prevention Link  

H  Private schools are now required to adopt a policy concerning safe exposure to the sun  
(Senate Bill  159, 2019 Legislative Session). The policy must  include students to 
possess and self-administer sunscreen and wear clothing outdoors that helps  protect 
them from exposure to the sun. Do you have this policy  in place? YES   NO  
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Component 7: Facility, Lease, and Insurance  

A  Along with a copy of  your Certificate of Occupancy, submit 1, 2,  or 3:  

1. New school buildings: submit plans prepared by architects  licensed to practice 
in Nevada. Label classrooms with grade  level and be sure floor dimensions are 
included  in the plan. 

2. Remodel/extensive repair/additions: submit plans  including detail as prepared
by architects or engineers licensed to practice in Nevada. Label classrooms with
grade level and be sure floor dimensions are on the plan. 

3. Existing buildings: submit “as-built” drawings with  labels  identifying 
classrooms/grade levels and be sure floor dimensions are on the plan 

Kindergarten = 35ft  2  per child; Grades 1-12  = 30ft  2  per child (NAC 394.040)  

B  Submit a copy of the  Fire Department  inspection report for an inspection completed  
within the  last 12 months that indicates the facility meets all  codes for the prevention 
of fire. This  must be from the Fire Department or the Fire Marshall (NAC 394.110). If  
you were inspected by the Clark County Fire Department you will not receive a written 
record of this  inspection; a copy of your Clark County Business License will prove your 
school has been approved by the Fire Department.   

Date of inspection report or business  license:  

C  Submit a copy of the  Health Department  inspection report for an inspection 
completed within the  last 12 months that  indicates the  facility meets all codes for 
safety, health, and sanitation (NAC 394.110).  

Date of Health Inspection report:  

D  If your school operates a food service program, submit a copy of  the  Health  
Department  inspection report for an inspection of the kitchen completed within the  
last 12 months that  indicates the facility meets all codes for safety, health, and 
sanitation.  

Date of Health Department inspection of kitchen, if applicable:  

E  If your school has vehicles for transportation of pupils to and from school, submit  a 
copy of the vehicle  inspection report done within the  last 12 months that defines the  
condition, equipment, and  identification of the vehicles (NAC 394.110).   

Questions about vehicles and vehicle inspections need to be sent to Jenna Fiedler at  
jfiedler@doe.nv.gov.  
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Total number of vehicles:   

F  Submit evidence of communication, dated within the  last 12 months, with the Division 
of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry showing you 
requested an OSHA inspection, or provide the  inspection report.  

Date of OSHA inspection or letter:  

G  Where are your SDS binders  located?   

H  What is the name of  your insurance company?  

I  What is the name of  your insurance agent?  

J  Submit the coversheet of your insurance policy that covers buildings and equipment,  
death, personal  injury, and property damage. Insurance must show at least 
$1,000,000 coverage  per occurrence. You are required to  list the Nevada Department 
of Education as  the certificate holder.   

K  If you lease or rent your building, submit a copy of your lease or rental agreement.  
This agreement must show the name of the owner and the length of the agreement.   

L  If the school or business entity owns the property and no rent is paid, please submit a  
copy of a mortgage statement with the site  address or Deed of Trust.   

Component 8: Advertising  

A  Provide copies of the  school’s proposed advertising. If you use outdoor advertising, do  
not use the words ‘State Board of Education’. If  you are  including something like  
‘licensed by the State Board of Education’,  it must be  in print no  larger than the  
smallest print used in the advertisement.   

Component 9: Sponsoring Organization & Financial Information  

A  Provide a list of all owners, directors, officers, shareholders, trustees, and other 
parties who have a financial i nterest in this school. Full disclosure is required.  Provide  
the names, titles, organization, and percentage of holdings.  

B  Submit a copy of the  Certificate of Authorization to do  business  in Nevada from the  
Secretary of State.   

C  Submit a copy of the  Articles of Incorporation. You only need to submit this once and 
it will remain  in your file unless there are changes.  

D  Submit a copy of the  Bylaws. You only need to submit this once and  it will remain in 
your file unless there are changes.  
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E  Submit your proposed budgets showing estimated revenues and expenditures for the  
number of years that your current license  lasts. You will either submit a two-year or 
four-year budget.  

F  Schools with  30-150  students must submit a financial statement compiled by a CPA or  
public accountant.   

Schools with 151 or more students must submit a financial statement reviewed by a 
signed by a CPA.   

Schools with fewer than 30 students do not need to submit a financial statement.  

G  Non-Profit schools only: submit a copy of the official  declaration of tax exemption from  
the IRS.  

H  Submit a copy of the  $5,000 or larger surety bond made payable to the State of  
Nevada Department of Education for the term of your license.   

In  lieu of the surety bond, the school may  purchase a Certificate of Deposit and  
submit a copy along  with this application.  
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*Any member of the  Nevada Department of Education may visit the school and  inspect the 
premises and operating procedure of the school during reasonable business hours.   

*A designated representative of the school will appear before the Nevada State Board of
Education if requested by the Department. 

I, the undersigned, do hereby swear or affirm, under oath and penalty of perjury, that the  
information set forth in the foregoing application  is true and complete to the best of my  
knowledge, and that failure to disclose pertinent information or the concealment of  
information or making false statements in the detailed application for licensure  shall  
constitute  valid grounds for refusal of  license or revocation of a license.  

Signature  of  Director/Administrator   Title  

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of , 20

 

 

   

 

_____________________________ _________________________ 

____ _______________________ ____, 
in and for said County and State.   

NOTARY PUBLIC    
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